Equations
You can bring a copy of this equation sheet in addition to the back pages of Griffiths listing spherical and cylindrical co-ordinate information to all tests and exams.
Homework
  • Thurs Sept. 6 - HW1 - Electric Field
    • Overview: Read Griffiths xiv-xviii
    • Position, Displacement, Separation Vectors: Read Griffiths 1.1.4
    • Electric field: Read Griffiths 2.1.1-2.1.4
    • Griffiths Problems 1.7,2.1,2.2,2.3,2.4
  • Mon Sept. 10 - HW2 - Electric Field/ cylindrical co-ordinates
    • Cylindrical co-ordinates: Read Griffiths 1.4.2
    • Electric field: Read Griffiths 2.1.1-2.1.4
    • Griffiths Problems 1.42,2.5,2.6
  • Thurs. Sept. 13 - HW3 - spherical co-ordinates/ line, surface and volume integrals
  • Mon Sept. 17 - HW4 - Properties of Vector Fields
    • Read Griffiths 1.2.1-1.2.7
    • Griffiths Problems 1.11,1.12,1.15,1.16,1.18,1.19,1.20,1.21,1.24,1.25,1.26,1.27,1.28
    • Remember test #1 on thurs. sept.20 will contain problems from or similar to HW1,HW2,HW3.
  • Thurs. Sept. 20 - HW5 - gradient, stoke's and divergence theorem
    • TEST on HW1,HW2,HW3
    • no summary required for today - just send questions please
    • Read Griffiths 1.3.2-1.3.5
    • Griffiths Problems 1.32,1.33,1.34,1.35,1.40,1.41,1.43,1.58
  • Mon. Sep 24 - HW6 - delta functions
    • Read Griffiths 1.5.1-1.5.3
    • Griffiths Problems 1.44,1.45,1.46,1.47,1.48,1.49,1.64
  • Thurs. Sept. 27 - HW7 -divergence of electric field/ Gauss's Law
    • Read Griffiths 2.2.1-2.2.3
    • Griffiths Problems 2.9,2.10,2.11,2.12,2.13,2.14,2.15,2.16,2.17
  • Mon. Oct. 1 - HW8 - curl of electric field/ Electric Potential
    • Read Griffiths 2.2.4,2.3.1-2.3.4
    • Griffiths Problems 2.19,2.20,2.21,2.22,2.23,2.24,2.25,2.26,2.27
    • Remember Test #2 on thursday Oct. 4 will cover HW4,HW5,HW6,HW7 - there will be a Gauss's law problem for sure
  • Thurs. Oct. 4 - HW9 - Electrostatic Potential Energy I
  • Oct. 8- Oct 12 - FALL BREAK
  • Mon. Oct. 15 - HW10 - Electrostatic Potential Energy II
    • Read Griffiths 2.4.4
    • Repeat Griffiths Problems 2.31,2.32,2.33,
    • New Griffiths Problems 2.34,2.35,2.36,2.37
  • Thurs. Oct. 18 - HW11 - Boundary Conditions, Conductors vs. insulators, Capacitors
    • Read Griffiths 2.3.5,2.5.1,2.5.2,2.5.3,2.5.4
    • Griffiths Problems 2.30,2.38,2.39,2.40,2.41,2.43,2.44
  • Mon. Oct. 22 - HW12 - Uniqueness Theorem, Averaging, Method of Images
    • Read Griffiths 3.1.1-3.1.5,3.2.1-3.2.2
    • Griffiths Problem 3.1,3.2,3.3,3.4,3.7,3.8,3.9,3.11
    • REMINDER: in-class Test Oct. 25 HW 8,9,10,11
  • Thurs. Oct. 25 - HW13 Fourier series
  • Mon. Oct. 29 - HW14- Separation of Variables - Cartesian Co-ordinates
    • Read Griffiths 3.3.1
    • Griffiths Problem 3.13,3.14,3.15,3.16
  • Thurs. Nov. 1 - HW15 - Separation of Variables - Spherical Co-ordinates
    • Read Griffiths 3.3.2
    • Griffiths Problems 3.17,3.18,3.19,3.20,3.21,3.24
  • Mon. Nov. 5 - HW16 - Multipole Expansion of the Scalar Potential
    • Read Griffiths 3.4.1,3.4.2,3.4.3
    • Griffiths Problems 3.27,3.28,3.29,3.30,3.32,3.46
  • Thurs. Nov 9 - HW17 - properties of dipoles, Polarization
    • Remember quiz covering HW12,HW14,HW15
    • Read Griffiths 3.4.4,4.1.1-4.1.4
    • no summary required, please send questions
    • Griffiths Problems 3.33,3.34,4.1,4.2,4.4,4.5,4.7,4.8,4.9
  • Mon. Nov. 12 - HW18 - Polarization
    • Read Griffiths 4.1.1-4.1.4
    • Griffiths Problems 4.1,4.2,4.4,4.5,4.7,4.8,4.9
  • Thurs Nov. 15 - HW19- Bound charge
    • Read Griffiths 4.2.1,4.2.2
    • Griffiths Problems 4.10,4.11,4.12,4.13,4.14
  • Mon Nov. 19 - HW20- Displacement Vector
    • Read Griffiths 4.3.1-4.3.3
    • Griffiths Problems 4.15,4.16,4.17
  • Thurs. Nov. 22- HW21 - Linear Isotropic Homogeneous Dielectrics
    • Remember in-class test HW 16,17,18,19
    • Read Griffiths 4.4.1; no summaries required, only questions
    • Griffiths Problems 4.18,4.19,4.20,4.21
  • Mon. Nov. 26- HW22 Boundary Value Problems with Linear Dielectrics
    • Read Griffiths 4.4.2
    • Griffiths Problems 4.22,4.23,4.24
  • Thurs. Nov. 29 - HW23 - Energy in Dielectric Systems
    • Read Griffiths 4.4.3
    • Griffiths Problems 4.26,4.27